Skip links and keyboard navigation

Gondwana Rainforests of Australia World Heritage area

Image Copyright: Nicholas Hill, Queensland Government.

The Gondwana Rainforests of Australia is a serial, cross-jurisdictional property comprising the major remaining areas of rainforest in south east Queensland and north east New South Wales. It currently includes parts of 41 protected areas located largely on the Great Dividing Range and eastern escarpment, extending from Main Range National Park in south east Queensland to Barrington Tops National Park in New South Wales.

Advisory Committees

Gondwana Rainforests of Australia World Heritage area has two advisory committees. The Community Advisory Committee (CAC) and Technical and Scientific Advisory Committee (TSAC) were established in 2002 to provide community, technical and scientific input into the management of the property. The advisory committees provide advice to the Ministers and managing agencies to assist in meeting obligations under the World Heritage Convention and the Federal Environmental Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999. These obligations include identifying, protecting, conserving, presenting and transmitting to future generations the Outstanding Universal Value of the World Heritage property.

Community Advisory Committee (CAC)

The CAC comprises an independent chair and the chair of the TSAC. In addition, the CAC has 10 members representing Traditional Owners, local authorities, community interest groups or relevant areas of expertise. This committee includes five representatives from Queensland, and five representatives holding stakeholder interests for New South Wales (the five New South Wales representatives are nominated through the Regional Advisory Committees of the New South Wales National Parks and Wildlife Service and are not included in the Queensland Department of Environment and Heritage Protection (EHP) expression of interest processes for chair and member positions).

Technical and Scientific Advisory Committee (TSAC)

The TSAC committee comprises an independent chair and the chair of the CAC, and eight members representing an area of expertise or scientific discipline relevant to the property’s World Heritage values.

For further information email

Related information

Last updated
20 December 2016