Skip links and keyboard navigation

closeThe former Department of Environment and Heritage Protection is merging to form the new Department of Environment and Science.
This site will be updated while the new Department of Environment and Science website is being established.

Erosion prone areas

On 8 July 2015, the Department of Environment and Heritage Protection declared new erosion prone areas for the Queensland coast. The new erosion prone area re-introduces climate change factors (including a sea level rise factor of 0.8 metres and updates the shoreline position. It is very similar to the erosion prone area rescinded in 2014.

The erosion prone area is the width of the coast that is considered to be vulnerable to coastal erosion and tidal inundation.

Calculation of the erosion prone area is based on: 

  • a short-term erosion component from extreme storm events
  • a long-term erosion component where gradual erosion is occurring commonly from channel migration or a sediment supply deficit
  • a dune scarp component, where slumping of the scarp face occurs following erosion
  • erosion risk due to future sea level rise from climate change both by permanent inundation of land by tidal water and the morphological response of the coast to elevated water level
  • a 40% safety factor.

The Coastal hazard technical guide provides additional information on coastal erosion and storm tide inundation and assessment of erosion prone area widths. More information concerning management of erosion prone areas can be found on the shoreline erosion management planning page.

Erosion prone area mapping

Statutory erosion prone areas are declared under section 70 of the Coastal Protection and Management Act 1995 (Coastal Act) by reference to an erosion prone area plan.

These plans are to be used for development assessment purposes, and to inform the preparation of planning instruments, such as planning schemes and regional plans under the Planning Act 2016.

Erosion prone areas have been declared for all coastal local government areas. The statutory plans detailing them are available and accessible using the following table.

Local government area Plan number

Aurukun, Pormpuraaw and Kowanyama Shires Local Government Area (PDF, 313K)


Brisbane City Local Government Area (PDF, 577K)


Bundaberg Region Local Government Area (PDF, 1.7M)


Burdekin Shire Local Government Area (PDF, 1.4M)


Burke, Doomadgee and Mornington Shires Local Government Area (PDF, 225K)


Cairns Region Local Government Area (PDF, 2.4M)


Carpentaria Shire Local Government Area (PDF, 311K)


Cassowary Coast Region Local Government Area (PDF, 2.0M)


Cook Shire Local Government Area (PDF, 3.8M)


Douglas Shire Local Government Area (PDF, 1.2M)


Fraser Coast Region Local Government Area (PDF, 2.6M)


Gladstone Region Local Government Area (PDF, 3.7M)


Gold Coast City Local Government Area (PDF, 8.6M)


Gympie Region Local Government Area (PDF, 601K)


Hinchinbrook Shire Local Government Area (PDF, 769K)


Hope Vale Shire Local Government Area (PDF, 577K)


Ipswich City Local Government Area (PDF, 377K)


Isaac Region Local Government Area (PDF, 1.1M)


Livingstone Shire Local Government Area (PDF, 2.3M)


Lockhart River Shire Local Government Area (PDF, 723K)


Logan City Local Government Area (PDF, 378K)


Mackay Region Local Government Area (PDF, 4.4M)


Mapoon and Napranum Shires Local Government Areas and Weipa Town Local Government Area (PDF, 218K) 


Moreton Bay Region Local Government Area (PDF, 1.4M)


Noosa Shire Region Local Government Area (PDF, 2.2M)


Northern Peninsula Area Region Local Government Area (PDF, 748K)


Palm Island Shire Local Government Area (PDF, 300K)


Redland City Local Government Area (PDF, 1.1M)


Rockhampton Region Local Government Area (PDF, 446K)


Sunshine Coast Region Local Government Area (PDF, 4.7M)


Torres Shire Local Government Area (PDF, 2.2M)


Torres Strait Islands Region Local Government Area (PDF, 484K)


Townsville City Local Government Area (PDF, 4.0M)


Whitsunday Region Local Government Area (PDF, 3.9M)


Wujal Wujal Shire Local Government Area (PDF, 291K)


Yarrabah Shire Local Government Area (PDF, 557K)


Coastal hazard area mapping

Coastal hazard areas consist of areas at risk from sea erosion or permanent inundation from tidal water and areas of temporary inundation resulting from a defined storm tide event. The mapping products include erosion prone area maps as well as storm tide inundation area maps.

These maps will be used to inform governments, businesses and the public about the geographic extent of hazard areas, and to inform decision-making in relation to the protection of vulnerable coastal communities and when assessing development applications.

While the erosion prone area plans specify the linear inland extent of the erosion prone area from tidal waters, the coastal hazard area maps interpret this and indicate the footprint of these areas on the ground. Care should be used when referring to the indicative map as the erosion prone area location may change over time. If there is any doubt about the location of the erosion prone area, then the declared erosion prone area plan prevails over the indicative footprint maps and a ground survey may be required to accurately define the location.

To access the coastal hazard area maps, see Request a coastal hazard map. These maps are available to be viewed at property scale, or via the map sheets index.

Changing the erosion prone area

The erosion prone area plans are updated periodically as more detailed on-ground studies are incorporated into the mapping. Any dispute about the extent of the erosion prone area must be accompanied by a report from a suitably qualified person using the methodology outlined in the Coastal hazard technical guide. For more information, please email .

Last updated
20 July 2017