Skip links and keyboard navigation

Process for determining the wildlife category for each species listed under the Nature Conservation Act 1992

The Department of Environment and Heritage Protection (EHP) co-ordinates the process for species to be listed under the Nature Conservation Act 1992 (NCA). The Species Technical Committee (STC) assesses applications submitted by members of the public, external and government scientists.

The STC assesses the information contained in the nomination form (Word, 300K)* to determine which of the following wildlife categories should be applied to the species: extinct in the wild, endangered, vulnerable, near threatened or least concern.

The STC progressively assesses the categories (view guidelines) assigned to Queensland wildlife - in conjunction with various scientific experts - to ensure they remain current. Once assessed, the Governor in Council may approve the proposed wildlife categories by amending the Nature Conservation (Wildlife) Regulation 2006 in accordance with the NCA.

Nominations that have been submitted to EHP to propose a new category for a species of Queensland wildlife are available on request. To request a copy of nomination that has been made for a particular species, please send an email to

Related information

* Requires Microsoft Office files viewer

Last updated
15 September 2017